The Tasmanian Darts Council was formed at a Meeting in Launceston in July, 1957 with three Divisions, South, North and North West.
After the formation, the game consisted of 301, double start, double finish singles, 401 double start, double finish doubles. 501 trebles, open start double finish.
In 1962 saw the affiliation of Esk and Circular Head men. West Coast men affiliated with the T.D.C in 1966.
Tasmanian Ladies Darts Council formed in 1964, and in 1979 saw them affiliate with the T.D.C.
T.D.C applied for D.F.A affiliation in 1971 at a cost of $100.00 per State. The Championships were held over the Easter Weekend.
Since it's inception in 1957, there have been some wonderful stories and feats from many people.
In 1968, The T.D.C provided six dart boards, along with twenty four sets of darts to the Australian Troops in Vietnam.
Individual highlights were aplenty, as in 1975 through to 1977, Circular Head's Margaret Plapp gained Australasian Selection.
In Launceston of August 1982, saw Hobart's Don Wright threw a 10 dart leg, which was the first live 10 dart leg on Australian Television.Whilst on firsts, five Coastal Women, four of them Grand Mothers, set a unique world record for continuous dart throwing. According to the London News paper "News of the World" the record is the first of it's kind to be achieved by women. They played for 48 hours non stop, the first dart was actually thrown at 9pm on the Friday night, with the last dart thrown on the Sunday night.They managed a collective score of 569,133. An average of 12000 points an hour. The women were: Doreen Marshall, Elaine Hayes, Dorothy Taylor, Ida Fist and M. Murphy.
Even the juniors were at it in 1990, with Hobart's Michael Pearce, setting an Australian first by throwing a
"180" in a Senior Roster game at ten years of age.
In 1984, Devonport's Helen Salter threw a 170 game shot which was the first ever recorded 170 peg in Tasmanian history for Womens darts. Also, in 1984, Hobart duo, Bill Miller and Neville Cowen won the D.F.A Delegates Doubles, this being Tasmania's first ever D.F.A Trophy.

State Legend Wayne "Tac" Atkins(pictured left):
In 1985, In his first year representing Tasmania, Hobart's Wayne Atkins topped the Australian Men's averages. He also won the Australian Rookie title in the same year. He also Represented Australia in the World Cup in Netherlands in 1991.A two time Representative at Winmau, the list goes on with this outstanding player.


Tasmania has also provided many other Australian Champions over the years:

1986: Lee-Anne Falkner won the Australian Ladies Singles Title, and was also selected for the Australian Pacific Cup Team.

1986: Jenny Mundy and Wayne Atkins take out the Australian Mixed Doubles Championships.

1988: Maree Stuart won the Australian "Rookie of the Year"

Two time National singles winner Lee-Anne Faulkner:
1989: Was a huge year for the State, with Janice Girdler and Peter Phillips winning the Australian Mixed Doubles, Jenny Ransley and Maree Stuart winning the Australian Ladies Doubles, and Lee-Anne Faulkner winning her second Australian Singles Title. (pictured right)

1990: Janice Girdler won the Ladies Pacific Masters. This year also saw her named as reserve for the Australian Pacific Cup Team.

2002: Robbie Walker and Sandra Smith won the Australian Mixed Doubles Title




(left) Three time National Doubles winner Helen Johnston:
2003: Helen Johnston and Sandra Smith won Australian Ladies Doubles.

2004:Helen Johnston and Sandra Smith won Australian Ladies Doubles, with Sandra completing the double by winning the Australian Singles Title.

Australian Singles Doubles and Mixed doubles winner Sandra Smith (pictured above)

2005: Helen Johnston and Sandra Smith pull off an incredible trifecta of Australian Ladies Doubles Titles.

Home | TDC Roster | News | Results | Gallery | Archives | Documents | About Us | Contact Us

Website content © 2010 to the Tasmanian Darts Council Inc..Website supported by: Jumping Castles For Hire